News & Resources

GKN Plc CEO Nigel Stein appointed Industry Chairman of Automotive Council

30 Jun 2015

Nigel Stein, Chief Executive of global engineering group GKN Plc, has been appointed Industry Chairman of the Automotive Council. He replaces Richard Parry-Jones, who held the post of Co-chair since the Council’s inception in 2009.

Having joined GKN in 1994, Nigel became the firm’s Chief Executive in 2012. In 2011-2012, he served as President of the Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders (SMMT).

Nigel has spent the past year as Chair of the Automotive Council’s Business Environment and Skills Group, a role which will now be taken up by Tony Walker, Deputy Managing Director, Toyota Manufacturing (UK) Ltd. Meanwhile, Grahame Hoare, Director of Global Vehicle Evaluation and Verification at Ford, succeeds Nissan’s Jerry Hardcastle as Chair of the Technology Group. Dave Allen, Purchasing Director at Jaguar Land Rover, continues in his position as Supply Chain Group Chair.

Commenting on his appointment, Nigel Stein said, “I am delighted to accept the role of Chairman of the Automotive Council and look forward to working with members and partner organisations to maintain its success.”

This entry was posted in News & Resources. Bookmark the permalink. Comments are closed, but you can leave a trackback: Trackback URL.